#NauruFiles Reading Vigils (12–16 Sept)
#NauruFiles Prayer Resources by Common Grace

On Wednesday August 10, 2016, The Guardian Australia published more than 2,000 leaked incident reports from Australia’s detention centre on Nauru. The reports—2,116 in number, of which more than half involve children—detail a catalogue of assaults, sexual abuse, self-harm attempts, child abuse and effects stemming from squalid living conditions.

In response, a coalition of grassroots organisations, including LMAW, held 56 public actions all over Australia (see below for details) in which they called for the closure of the detention centres on Nauru and Manus Island. These actions targeted more than a third of this nation’s MPs, including the Prime Minister, the Opposition Leader, the Treasurer, the Immigration Minister, and the Shadow Immigration Minister.

But this is only the beginning. We are asking our supporters, and Christians all over Australia, to continue to take action. Here’s how:

We’re partnering with our friends at Common Grace to make this happen, and they have some excellent prayer resources that you can use by yourself or in your church, Bible study, or wherever. Make sure to check them out.

A list of actions so far…

By electorate

Fenner: Mon 22 Aug, 10:00am. Andrew Leigh MP, 1 Torrens St Braddon

Banks: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. David Coleman MP, 22 Revesby Place Revesby
Bennelong: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. John Alexander MP, 44—46 Oxford St Epping
Berowra: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Julian Leeser MP, 423 Pennant Hills Road Pennant Hills
Bradfield: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Paul Fletcher MP, 280 Pacific Highway, Lindfield
Cook: Thurs 18 Aug, 7:30–7:45am. Scott Morrison MP, 30 Kingsway, Cronulla
Dobell: Mon 15 Aug, 7:45–8:20am. Reliance Drive, Tuggerah (close to Business Park)
Chifley: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Ed Husic MP, 6/15 Cleeve Close Mt Druitt
Fowler: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Chris Hayes MP, 24-32 Hughes Street Cabramatta
Grayndler: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Anthony Albanese MP, 334A Marrickville Road Marrickville
Greenway: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Michelle Rowland MP, 230 Prospect Highway Seven Hills
Hughes: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Craig Kelly MP, Shop 1, 9-15 East Parade Sutherland
Kingsford Smith: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Matt Thistlethwaite MP, Shop 6, 205 Maroubra Road Maroubra
Macarthur: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Mike Freelander MP, 47 Argyle Street Camden
Macquarie: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Susan Templeman MP, Shop 24, Riverview Shopping Centre, 227 George St, Windsor
Mitchell: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Alex Hawke MP, Suite 8, 23 Terminus Street Castle Hill
North Sydney: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Trent Zimmerman MP, 2 Elizabeth Plaza North Sydney
Parramatta: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Julie Owens MP, Suite 1, 25 Smith Street (Entry via Macquarie St) Parramatta
Parramatta: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Westmead Children’s Hospital, 212 Hawkesbury Rd, Westmead
Parramatta: Mon 15 Aug, 8:10am. Centenary Square, Parramatta
Robertson: Mon 15 Aug, 7:45–8:00am. Terrigal Drive (opp. Holmes Rd, at Oval)
Robertson: Mon 15 Aug, 7:45–8:00am. West Gosford (entry to Coles car park)
Robertson: Mon 15 Aug, 7:45–8:00am. Gosford Waterfront
Robertson: Mon 15 Aug, 7:45–8:00am. Empire Bay Drive (near Empire Bay School), Empire Bay
Sydney: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Tanya Plibersek MP, 150 Broadway Broadway
Warringah: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. Tony Abbott MP, 17 Sydney Road Manly
Wentworth: Mon 15 Aug, 8:00am. PM Malcolm Turnbull, Ground Lvl, 287-289 New South Head Rd Edgecliff
Wollongong: Mon 15 Aug, 8am. Sharon Bird MP, 74 Crown Street Wollongong

Blair: Fri 19 Aug, 7:30am. Shayne Neumann MP (Shadow Minister for Immigration), Shop 28-29, 68 Hunter St, Brassall
Brisbane: Mon 15 Aug, 12 noon – 1pm. Outside Department of Immigration and Border Protection, 299 Adelaide St Brisbane
Dickson: Sat 20 Aug, 9:00-9:30am. Peter Dutton MP (Minister for Immigration and Border Protection), 199 Gympie Rd, Strathpine
Griffith: Fri 19 Aug, 8:00–8:30am. Terri Butler MP, 630 Wynnum Rd, Morningside
Groom: Wed 17 Aug, 12:30–1:30pm. John McVeigh MP, Cnr Duggan & Margaret Streets, Toowoomba
McPherson: Thurs 18 Aug, 12.30pm. Karen Andrews MP, Ground Floor, The Point 47 Watts Drive, Varsity Lakes QLD

Adelaide: Wed 17 Aug, 12:30pm. Outside Department of Immigration and Border Protection, 70 Franklin St Adelaide
Barker: Fri 19 Aug, 8:00am. Tony Pasin MP, 27 Commercial Street East, Mount Gambier

Denison, Franklin, Lyons: Fri 19 Aug, 1:30pm. Andrew Wilkie MP, Sen Jonothan Duniam, & Department of Immigration and Border Protection, Commonwealth Building, corner of Collins & Harrington Streets

Aston: Wed 17 Aug, 8:00am. Alan Tudge MP, 420 Burwood Hwy Wantirna South
Batman: Mon 22 Aug, 8:00am. David Feeney MP, 159 High St Preston
Bendigo: Wed 17 Aug, 8am. Lisa Chesters MP, Cnr Williamson & Myers Streets, Bendigo CBD
Corangamite: Wed 17 Aug, 5:30pm. Sarah Henderson MP, 3A/195 Colac Rd Waurn Ponds
Deakin: Tues 16 Aug, 1:30pm, Michael Sukkar MP, 5/602 Whitehorse Rd Mitcham
Dunkley: Wed 17 Aug, 7:00am. Vigil at Frankston Station, followed by visit to MP
Gellibrand: Wed 17 Aug, 9.30-10.00am. Tim Watts MP, 97 Geelong rd, Footscray
Goldstein: Wed 17 Aug 8:00am. Tim Wilson MP, 368 Centre Rd Bentleigh.
Gorton: Wed 17 Aug, 9:30–10:00am. Brendan O’Connor MP, 13 Lake St, Caroline Springs
La Trobe: Wed 17 Aug, 1:30–2:00pm. Emerald Community House, 356–358 Belgrave-Gembrook Road, Emerald
Maribyrnong: Wed 17 Aug, 8:00am. Bill Shorten MP, Moonee Ponds Shopping Centre, 1a/12 Hall St Moonee Ponds
Melbourne: Thurs 18 Aug, 5:00pm. Outside Department of Immigration and Border Protection, 2 Lonsdale St Melbourne
Menzies: Tues 16 Aug, 5:30pm. Kevin Andrews MP, 651 Doncaster Rd, Doncaster
Wannon: Mon 15 Aug, 8:15am. Dan Tehan MP, 73 Kepler St, Warrnambool

Curtin: Mon 15 Aug, 9.30am. Julie Bishop MP, 414 Rokeby Rd Subiaco
Fremantle: Mon 15 Aug 8:00am. Josh Wilson MP, 62 Wray Ave Fremantle
Hasluck: Mon 15 Aug 9:30am. Ken Wyatt MP, 10—12 Forrestfield Marketplace, 80 Hale Rd, Forrestfield
Perth: Wed 17 Aug, 12.30pm. Outside Department of Immigration and Border Protection, Wellington Central, 836 Wellington St West Perth
Perth: Thurs 18 Aug, 8:15–9:00am. Sen Michaelia Cash, 44-46 Outram St, West Perth